deutsch | english
 
Member of
 
Dachverband der österreichischen Filmschaffenden
Social Media

DIRECTORS

< Zur Suche

Thomas Rigler


GENRES / TÄTIGKEITEN
Doku TV
 

KONTAKT

 
Rigler Creative
Thomas Rigler
885 S Orange Grove Blvd, Unit 40
91105 Pasadena, CA
Wien, Köln
Tel Geschäftl.: 001 626 765 6550
Tel Mobil: 001 626 731 4670
 

WERDEGANG

 
AUSBILDUNG
Filmakademie, Wien
 
ARBEIT-AUSLAND
PBS — Lost LA, 2019 Emmy Award; California Coastal Trail; City Walk. State of California — Films about coastline communities. International Fund for Animal Welfare - PSA and campaigns. Kaiser Permanente — Online campaign and documentaries, 25 national PR and marketing awards. US Surgeon General - Call to Action for Walkable Communities. Funny Or Die — Viral PSA reuniting the cast of The West Wing. Arte and ZDF - Theaterlandschaften / Documentaries about Theater and Culture. CNET and Fine Living - TV Specials on Entertainment Technology. Food Network - PSA’s for Food and Wine Pairings. E! and Style Networks: Travel and film documentaries. Penguin Books, Bloomsbury Books: Book Trailers.
 
SPRACHEN
Englisch, Französisch, Latein.
 
DIVERSE TÄTIGKEITEN
Thomas Rigler arbeitet als Regisseur und Showrunner im Grenzbereich von Kunst, sozialer Relevanz und kommerzieller Unterhaltung. Er entwickelt Dokumentarserien und authentische Geschichten fürs Fernsehen und Streaming-Dienste, oft in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Marken und wirtschaftlichen Konzernen. Thomas sucht unermüdlich nach Geschichten und Themen, die den kreativen Prozess für Film, Theater, Musik, Kunst und Wissenschaft reflektieren. Die Mysterien der menschlichen Daseins in unseren Städten und geschützten Landschaften sind ein häufig wiederkehrendes Thema, und seine 6-teilige Serie “Lost LA” für den amerikanischen öffentlich-rechtlichen Sender PBS gewann 2019 mit einem Special über den Yosemite Nationalpark den Emmy Award in der Kategorie Culture / History. Teil der Aufgabe an “Lost LA” war, die Serie für die dritte Staffel komplett neu zu erfinden, und dann als Regisseur und ausführender Produzent für alle 6 Folgen umzusetzen. Als Resultat gewann das gesamte kreative Team Emmys – vom DoP zum Cutter, co-Autor und Moderator. Davor erforschte er bereits in seiner 16-teilige Serie “City Walk” (ebenfalls in den USA für PBS inszeniert und produziert) die urbane Lebenswelt im weitesten Sinne: Filme zum Thema Stadtplanung, Design, Gesundheitswesen, Architektur und urbane Parks boten Gelegenheit für Interviews mit Experten, Politikern und kreativen Querdenkern wie Penn & Teller, Reese Witherspoon und Luke Wilson. “City Walk” war 2015 ebenfalls für den Emmy Award nominiert. Im Bereich Kampagne und Public Service Announcements ist Thomas ebenfalls kontinuierlich mit seinem Produktionsbüro “Rigler Creative, LLC” tätig: Dort leitete er wärend 7 Jahren die landesweite “Every Body Walk!” Kampagne für die US-Krankenversicherung Kaiser Permanente; das PSA “Step it Up!” für das amerikanische Gesundheitsministerium gelang im Auftrag des US Surgeon General; das vielfach preisgekrönte PSA für die Comedy Plattform “Funny or Die” brachte die Kernbesetzung der TV Serie “The West Wing” wieder gemeinsam ans Set für einen guten Zweck – Martin Sheen, Allison Janney, Josh Malina und Dulé Hill nahmen dafür wieder gemeinsam ihre Rollen auf. Vor der kreativen Freiheit mit Dokuserien für PBS verbrachte Thomas 6 Jahre als Regisseur und Produzent in Serienfabriken in Los Angeles, wo er für mehr als 15 internationale Fernsehkanäle für hunderte Stunden von TV-Programm verantwortlich zeichnte, unter anderem: E! Entertainment, Style Networks, COMCAST, NBC, CNET, Fine Living, Food Network, KCET, PBS, sowie in Europa ZDF, Theaterkanal, Arte, 3Sat und ORF. Im Jahre 2008 gründete Thomas die Programmschiene “Content Summit” bei der Technologie- und Marketingkonferenz “Digital Hollywood,” für die er 8 Jahre lang in New York und Los Angeles Podiumsdiskussionen und Keynotes mit großen Innovatoren unserer Branche kuratierte. Mit dem Ziel, parallel zum Anbruch neuer Technologien auch neue kreative Arbeitsweisen zu inspirieren, diskutierten hunderte Showrunner, Schauspieler, Produzenten und Musiker, u.a.: Tim Kring und Dan Harmon, Luke Wilson, Matthew Modine und Kevin Pollak, Stewart Copeland und Kevin Godley. Als Moderator für die Veranstaltungsreihe “Hollywood Talks Shop” – eine Serie von Liveunterhaltungen am Goethe institut Los Angeles – präsentierte Thomas Retrospektiven und abendfüllende Gespräche mit vielen bewunderten Vorbildern, u.a. Wim Wenders, Roland Emmerich, Hans Zimmer, Udo Kier und Angelika Taschen. Thomas ist enorm dankbar für die kollegiale und universelle Ausbildung an der Wiener Filmakademie, im Regiefach erst bei Lukas Stepanik und dann bei Peter Patzak; im Drehbuch bei Walter Wippersperg; und in der Produktion bei Peter Mayer. Die Aufnahme und Zeit auf der Filmakademie kann schlichtweg als sein entscheidender berufliche Wendepunkt bezeichntet werden, der ihn für alles weiter Folgende zumindest einigermaßen vorbereitete. Thomas wurde weiters zweimal mit Prototypen ins Digital Content Lab des American Film Institute geladen; er ist ein 4-facher Empfänger des Whale Tail Grants, verliehen vom State of California für seine umfangreichen Filmarbeiten zur Erhaltung der kalifornischen Küste. Thomas volontierte im Vorstand der International Documentary Association (2009 als Vice President) und is Mitglied der TV Academy / Emmys, der Producers Guild of America, der WEBBYs und der Austrian Directors? Association.
 
PREISE/AUSZEICHNUNGEN
2019 Emmy Award: Lost LA / Yosemite, PBS 2018, 2019: Whale Tail Grants / State of California: California Coastal Trail - Within Sight, Scent and Sound of the Ocean. 2015 Emmy Award Nomination: City Walk - Walk Stars / Satellite Beach, PBS Bulldog Not-For-Profit PR Award: City Walk MM&M Gold Award: Every Body Walk! Campaign Hermes Gold Award: Best Educational Video PR Daily Media Relations Awards: Best Use of Video PR Daily’s Digital PR Awards: Best Video Web Health Mobile Award: Silver
 

ON SCREEN

Derzeit keine Einträge.

Filmothek

 
 

FILMOGRAPHIE

 
TITEL
JAHR
GENRE
INFOS
 
Lost LA: Beach Culture
2018
Doku TV
 
Lost LA: Desert Fantasy
2018
Doku TV
 
Lost LA: Fantasyland
2018
Doku TV
 
Lost LA: Ghost Towns
2018
Doku TV
 
Lost LA: Venice
2018
Doku TV
 
Lost LA: Yosemite
2018
Doku TV

deutsch | english
 
Member of
 
Dachverband der österreichischen Filmschaffenden
Social Media

DIRECTORS

< back

Thomas Rigler


GENRES / ACTIVITIES
Documentation TV
 

CONTACT

 
Rigler Creative
Thomas Rigler
885 S Orange Grove Blvd, Unit 40
91105 Pasadena, CA
Wien, Köln
Tel Geschäftl.: 001 626 765 6550
Tel Mobil: 001 626 731 4670
 

CAREER

 
EDUCATION
National Film School, Vienna, Austria
 
WORK EXPERIENCE ABROAD
PBS — Lost LA, 2019 Emmy Award; California Coastal Trail; City Walk. State of California — Films about coastline communities. International Fund for Animal Welfare - PSA and campaigns. Kaiser Permanente — Online campaign and documentaries, 25 national PR and marketing awards. US Surgeon General - Call to Action for Walkable Communities. Funny Or Die — Viral PSA reuniting the cast of The West Wing. Arte and ZDF - Theaterlandschaften / Documentaries about Theater and Culture. CNET and Fine Living - TV Specials on Entertainment Technology. Food Network - PSA’s for Food and Wine Pairings. E! and Style Networks: Travel and film documentaries. Penguin Books, Bloomsbury Books: Book Trailers.
 
LANGUAGE SKILLS
English, French, Latin.
 
ACTIVITIES
Thomas Rigler is a 2019 Emmy-winning director, executive producer, and nonfiction showrunner operating on the razor’s edge of art, social impact, and commerce. He creates award-winning documentary series and authentic stories for television and streaming platforms, often in collaboration with aspirational corporate brands. Thomas chases storylines and topics in pursuit of the creative process in film, theater, music, art, design, public health, and science, as well as the mysteries of the human experience inside our cities and protected landscapes. Most recently he was tasked to re-invent the style and format of the PBS flagship program “Lost LA” for KCET, directing and executive producing all six episodes of season three. These efforts garnered 2019 Emmy Awards for the entire core team, including cinematographer, editor, and Thomas’ own Emmy win for directing and producing. Prior to that, the 16-part series “City Walk” that he created, directed, and executive produced for PBS explored urban design, planning, and public health across the country. The show, which featured appearances by Penn & Teller, Mayor Bloomberg, Luke Wilson, Stewart Copeland, and Reese Witherspoon, also received Emmy Award nominations for Thomas and his team. Thomas’s long-running awareness campaigns and PSA’s include the seven-year “Every Body Walk!” campaign for Kaiser Permanente; “Step it Up!” for the Office of the US Surgeon General, featuring US Surgeon General Dr. Murthy and Alison Janney; and the award-winning Funny or Die PSA “The West Wing Reunion,” featuring Martin Sheen, Allison Janney, Josh Malina, and Dulé Hill, a viral video that crossed into the treasured Immortal category on the popular comedy platform. Prior to enjoying the creative freedom of directing award-winning shows on PBS and its affiliates during the past decade, Thomas spent six formative years in-house at E! / Style Networks, where he directed and executive produced hundreds of hours of programming. Productions for 15 television networks and OTT platforms in the US, Europe, and Latin America followed, among them: KCET, LinkTV, Hulu, Amazon Prime, Funny or Die, NBC, CNET, Fine Living, Food Network, ZDF, Arte, 3Sat, and ORF. In 2008, Thomas founded the “Content Summit”, a co-located event to the “Digital Hollywood” conference taking place bi-annually in Los Angeles and New York, and curated the summit during 8 years and 20 editions, booking hundreds of creative innovators from every branch of the entertainment industry to speak at panels and keynotes. Geared to inspire, the impressive list included top TV showrunners like Tim Kring and Dan Harmon, actors like Luke Wilson, Matthew Modine and Kevin Pollak, directors David Zucker and Bill Duke, as well as digital visionaries like Jimmy Wales. During his tenure as host of “Hollywood Talks Shop,” a series of live talks with German expatriates at the Goethe Institute LA, Thomas presented career reviews and conversations with some of his favorite artists and filmmakers, such as Wim Wenders, Hans Zimmer, Udo Kier and Roland Emmerich. Fortunate to have studied writing and directing at Austria’s prestigious National Film Academy, Thomas was twice selected for the AFI’s Digital Content Lab program and is a four-time recipient of the Whale Tail Grant from the State of California for extensive film work on coastal preservation. He served on the Board of the International Documentary Association as its Vice President and is a proud member of the TV Academy, the Producers Guild of America, and the WEBBYs, as well as the Austrian Directors Association.
 
AWARDS
2019 Emmy Award: Lost LA / Yosemite, PBS 2018, 2019: Whale Tail Grants / State of California: California Coastal Trail - Within Sight, Scent and Sound of the Ocean. 2015 Emmy Award Nomination: City Walk - Walk Stars / Satellite Beach, PBS Bulldog Not-For-Profit PR Award: City Walk MM&M Gold Award: Every Body Walk! Campaign Hermes Gold Award: Best Educational Video PR Daily Media Relations Awards: Best Use of Video PR Daily’s Digital PR Awards: Best Video Web Health Mobile Award: Silver
 

ON SCREEN

no entries

VIDEOS

 
 

FILMOGRAPHY

 
TITEL
YEAR
GENRE
INFOS
 
Lost LA: Beach Culture
2018
Documentation TV
 
Lost LA: Desert Fantasy
2018
Documentation TV
 
Lost LA: Fantasyland
2018
Documentation TV
 
Lost LA: Ghost Towns
2018
Documentation TV
 
Lost LA: Venice
2018
Documentation TV
 
Lost LA: Yosemite
2018
Documentation TV